Scroll to top button

Mike Meyers' CompTIA Security Course for Exam SY0-401 (Course & Labs)

Mike Meyers' CompTIA Security Course for Exam SY0-401 (Course...
ISBN : 9781616916725
50+ Labs
Rating :

Gear up to prepare for CompTIA Security+ certification exam by Mike Meyers’ CompTIA Security+ Certification Guide course and performance-based labs. Performance-based labs simulate real-world, hardware, software & command line interface environments and can be mapped to any text-book, course & training. Mike Meyers’ CompTIA Security+ Certification Guide course and performance-based labs cover all the objectives of CompTIA Security+ SY0-401 exam which include the application of security controls to maintain confidentiality, integrity, and availability; identification of appropriate technologies and products; troubleshooting security events and incidents, and much more. 

Retired. This product is no longer available.

Here's what you will get

 The CompTIA Security+ is an entry-level, international, vendor-neutral credential designed for IT security professionals to identify risk, participate in risk mitigation activities, provide infrastructure, information, operational, and application security. In addition to adding Security+ to your resume as a globally acknowledged certification, you can use it as an elective in many vendor-certification tracks.

Glossary of terms
Test prep
Pre-assessment Questions
Full Length Tests
Performance based lab
Video tutorials
Exam FAQs
What are the prerequisites for this exam? CompTIA Network+ and two years of experience in IT administration with a focus on security.
What is the exam registration fee? USD 330 
Where do I take the exam? Pearson VUE
What is the format of the exam? Multiple choice and performance-based
How many questions are asked in the exam? The exam contains 90 questions.
What is the duration of the exam? 90 minutes
What is the passing score? 750

(on a scale of 100-900)

What is the exam's retake policy?

In the event that you fail your first attempt at passing the SY0-401 examination, CompTIA's retake policy is:

  1. CompTIA does not require a waiting period between the first and second attempt to pass such examination. However, if you need a third or subsequent attempt to pass the examination, you shall be required to wait for a period of at least 14 calendar days from the date of your last attempt before you can retake the exam.
  2. If a candidate has passed an exam, he/she cannot take it again without prior consent from CompTIA.
  3. A test result found to be in violation of the retake policy will not be processed, which will result in no credit awarded for the test taken. Repeat violators will be banned from participation in the CompTIA Certification Program.
  4. Candidates must pay the exam price each time they attempt the exam. CompTIA does not offer free re-tests or discounts on retakes.
What is the validity of the certification? CompTIA Security+ certification are valid for three years from the date the candidate is certified, after which the certification holder will need to renew their certification viaCompTIA's Continuing Education Program
Where can I find more information about this exam? To know more about the MHE-SY0-401, click here.
Which certification covers this exam?
What are the career opportunities after passing this exam?
  • Security Engineer
  • Network Administrator
  • IA Technician or Manager
  • Security Consultant/Specialist

Here's what you will learn

  • Why Do We Need Certification Exams?
  • The CompTIA Security+ Examination
  • The Goals of Security
  • Other Elements of Security
  • Security Concepts
  • Assessing Risk
  • Risk Assessment Methods
  • Cryptographic Algorithms
  • Application of Cryptographic Methods
  • Host-based Threats and Vulnerabilities
  • Securing Data Storage
  • Static Environments
  • Securing Networks
  • Secure Network Design
  • Securing and Defending Networks
  • Threats from Web Applications
  • Internet and Application Service Protocols
  • Securing Virtual Environments
  • Wireless Security Protocols
  • Wireless Authentication
  • Wireless Security Considerations
  • Troubleshooting Wireless Security Issues
  • Classifying Controls
  • Physical Controls
  • Third-Party Business Practices
  • Mobile Devices in the Business World
  • Social Engineering Attacks
  • Security Awareness and Training
  • Security Assessment Tools and Techniques
  • Incident Response Concepts
  • Incident Response Procedures
  • Forensic Concepts
  • Data Volatility
  • Critical Forensic Practices
  • Capturing Evidence
  • Analyzing Evidence
  • Risk Management Best Practices
  • Business Continuity Concepts
  • Business Continuity Planning
  • Exercises and Testing
  • Disaster Recovery Concepts

Hands on Activities (Labs)

  • Identifying risk actions
  • Identifying security factors
  • Identifying service associated with cloud computing
  • Identifying risk assessment process
  • Identifying approaches of non-mathematical cryptography
  • Identifying data state
  • Identifying hashing algorithm
  • Identifying asymmetric algorithms
  • Creating a virtual volume
  • Identifying the authority process
  • Understanding public cryptographic initiatives
  • Understanding biometric authentication
  • Identifying access control methods
  • Identifying authentication protocols
  • Identifying the CHAP process
  • Creating a GPO and linking it with the existing GPO
  • Managing password policies
  • Configuring account-lockout policies
  • Identifying types of malware
  • Understanding methods of OS hardening
  • Installing the Avast antivirus and scanning the system
  • Identifying tunneling protocols
  • Identifying RAID level characteristics
  • Encrypting flash drive with BitLocker
  • Understanding the network infrastructure devices
  • Identifying device for network connectivity
  • Describing Network Address Translation
  • Identifying man-in-the-middle attack
  • Identifying attacks
  • Understanding key areas of reporting
  • Identifying web application attack
  • Understanding email protocols
  • Understanding application layer protocols
  • Identifying TCP ports
  • Identifying protocols for secure connections
  • Identifying SSL session between two hosts
  • Understanding primary virtualization topics
  • Identifying wireless attacks
  • Identifying retardants of fire extinguishers
  • Identifying control function
  • Identifying physical security devices
  • Identifying cloud computing service models
  • Understanding cloud models
  • Describing application control
  • Identifying social engineering attacks
  • Identifying steps for creating password
  • Identifying penetration test types
  • Identifying backup types
  • Identifying various alternate site